My great Moussaka and fries

I learned that the word Moussaka comes from Arabic language “Musaqqa’a”, meaning “chilled”. The Arab region is between Asia and South Africa. In Turkish it is spelled musakka but in other languages they call it eggplant casserole. In some countries they use tomato instead of eggplants.

I chose moussaka because I wanted to try to cook it on my own. My father also said ” Eco I want you to cook moussaka for dinner”. Then I asked ” why po?” he said “because it’s so delicious I want to eat Moussaka again”. So that’s why I cooked Moussaka for dinner.

When I was going to cook my Moussaka, I saw a lot of mess on the table. I can’t really prepare properly because my mother and sister were cooking leche flan cake. So I took the things that they didn’t need anymore and put it in the sink, then I prepared my Moussaka. I did not have the list of ingredients we used for Mousakka in my Mediterranean cooking class so I just did everything from memory.

Oregano leaf

Oregano leaf


Basil leaves

Basil leaves

First, I sliced the eggplant, mozzarella cheese, onion, garlic, oregano leaves and basil leaves. It was the first time I saw fresh oregano leaves because we always used the dried oregano from a McCormick bottle. It looked interesting with its pointy edges.

Me cooking the onions and garlic

Me cooking the onions and garlic


Second, I cooked the onions and garlic.

Third I put the ground beef, salt, pepper, sugar and cooked it until the meat is brown.

The stewed tomatoes and meat sauce

The stewed tomatoes and meat sauce


Tomato sauce

Tomato sauce

Fourth, I put the stewed tomatoes, tomato sauce, basil and oregano leaves.

Me putting the eggplants

Me putting the eggplants

Fifth, I put the meat sauce on the bottom of the baking dish. Then I arranged the eggplants on top of the meat sauce , followed by the ground beef with tomatoes. I put the mozzarella cheese on top and covered it with foil.

The mozzarella cheese

The mozzarella cheese

Me putting the mozzarella cheese

Me putting the mozzarella cheese

Then I put it in the oven and baked it for 45 min. Finally, I cooked fajita fries for 5 minutes until it was brown, in a deep frying pan on medium high heat. I served the Mousakka with fries but cooked rice too for anyone who likes that better. Mmmm….so delicious:-)

My Mousakka

My Mousakka


The Fajita fries

The Fajita fries


Now you know how to cook Mousakka. My father loved it so much, all he said was mmmmmmmmm…… My mother commented that the eggplants were sliced just right. They said it tasted almost the same as the one I cooked in my cooking class with Chef Ernest Gala. But mom liked it a bit more because it’s still hot and the cheese is still melted and bubbling. My siblings , specially my youngest sister really loved the mozarella cheese on top. She didn’t even notice the eggplants.

My youngest sister eating mousakka

My youngest sister eating mousakka

I will give my own Mousakka five stars out of five for the taste and 4 stars for level of difficulty because it took a lot of time.

Me tasting my home made Mousakka

Me tasting my home made Mousakka

The empty baking dish

The empty baking dish

THANKS FOR READING MY BLOG BYE OR ADIOS BLOG READERS :-D.

Leave a Reply

